RSS

Raspberry Pi Auto Login As Root

12 Sep
Raspberry Pi Auto Login As Root

Assuming you are using Raspbian Jessie, here is 2 steps to have your Pi booting with GUI as root.

STEP ONE:

edit the file: /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service 

ExecStart=-/sbin/agetty --noclear %I $TERM

changes to:

ExecStart=-/sbin/agetty/ --noclear -a root %I $TERM

Remember to Save.

STEP TWO:

edit the file: /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

#autologin-user=

changes to:

autologin-user=root

(make sure you remove the “#”  !)

Save and Reboot.

DONE.

NOTES:  You must know that this is a hackers dream to find your open autologin root system.  But roboticists, home dev types and air gapped cnc machinists I am sure are sick of everyone keeping this knowledge in pieces or behind protective walls.  I am posting this for myself because it seems harder to find it each time I need it.  I DONT KNOW If step one is required.  I will test it some day when I build another system.

I just tested this on Rpi2 with 2.8 PiTFT capacitive touch screen.  Good luck on your creations…  I don’t usually make technical posts but I see too many struggling to remain silent.

 

terminalshot

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 09/12/2016 in IndieDev, Uncategorized

 

Please voice your opinions!

 
